Kevin Hasselberg is ‘Coach of the Year’ Nominee

The Alberta Junior Hockey League announced their finalists for a variety of league awards and the Drumheller Dragons brass were among the names.

Head Coach/GM, Kevin Hasselberg, was named as a nominee for the 2018/19 AJHL Coach of the Year. He joins three other top-end coaches in the Alberta Junior Hockey League.

AJHL Coach of the Year nominees:

  1. Ryan Papaioannou – Brooks Bandits
  2. Kevin Hasselberg – Drumheller Dragons
  3. Eric Thurston – Drayton Valley Thunder
  4. Rick Swan – Bonnyville Pontiacs

Hasselberg is in his second season behind the bench in Drumheller and has instilled a winning culture with the Dragons in that time. He became the quickest coach in franchise history to reach 50 wins earlier this season (50-31-5). In doing so he moved passed former Dragons coaches Brian Curran (50-37-10) and Rob Hegberg (50-48-15).